News:

Buy official forum merchandise here!

Main Menu

A southeast Alabama geocache run

Started by Guidedawg, November 14, 2016, 01:49:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Guidedawg

I had skipped several recent riding activities, so as the 3 day weekend approached I made plans to get out for a bit.

There are some trips I'm still formulating, but they would all be overnight so that was out.  I considered riding north to see if I could catch leaf color, but wanted to go someplace new.

Then I remembered that there are some counties I needed to visit for Geocaching.  I've been caching for several years but at a very casual pace compared to most.  One of the first things more well-rounded cachers do is make a find in each county of their state.  However, in 8 years this is as far as I've gotten.

(For some reason my Perry Co. finds were credited to Lamar so that part is incorrect)

So I decided to head to the Southeast and visit Barbour, Henry and Geneva Counties to knock those off the list.

My only Interstate travel was a brief jaunt on I-85 just to avoid a lot of red lights and to take the newest exit east of Montgomery for the fun of it.

Since this trip was going to take several hours, I got an early start and was on the road by 6:30.  I thought that a few layers would be sufficient so I donned my "winter" riding gear of long johns, thick socks, jeans, and chaps for the bottom and a T-shirt beneath a long sleeve work shirt protected by my leather jacket on top.  I kept the half helmet and added a head/ear wrap along with the thicker gloves.

First of all, those gloves have never kept my fingers anywhere near warm in the past so I'm not sure why I thought they would magically do it today other than thinking it would not be that cold.

I was cursing that decision as I rode Hwy 82 and my fingers growing ever more uncomfortable. I wouldn't have complained about an additional shirt at that point either.