Efficiency as the primary reason (excuse) for riding?

Started by gene46, September 19, 2015, 09:26:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

gene46

I started riding 2 years ago (at the young age of 52) looking for efficient transportation. I wanted to sell my 4 cyl Nissan truck to buy a full size, but I didn't want to take a hit at the fuel pump. I drive close to 30,000 miles a year. I decided that if I could ride a motorcycle 10,000 miles a year that my fuel savings would average to the same driving a full size truck the rest of the time. I wasn't prepared to fall in love with riding! In the past year (since 9/2014) i have ridden my bikes 18,800 miles and drove my truck 13,500! I bought my first new bike 4 months ago after doing a lot of research. Efficiency and overall operating costs were still the main reason for my bike choice. The final 2 bikes in my decision process were both Hondas. The CTX700 and the Shadow Spirit 750. The real deciding factor was insurance expense which is low on the Spirit, $300 per year vs. $1250 per year on the CTX700. I am extremely happy with my bike choice. My 8000 mile average is 56.2 MPG. That includes a lot of playing! The maintenance and insurance costs are low.
Here is a question for you. How many of you use your bike as primary commuting transportation? Are there other riders out there that look at efficiency as their primary purchasing decision?
By the way, I still don't have a full size truck. Why spend all that money when I will not be driving it much? ;D

KrisCook

I bought the Rebel back in September of 2008, when Premium was going for up to 4.59 a gallon. I was already in love, though. I think I was born in love with two wheels, and no amount of forbidding my parents could do could kill it.
Sounds good except for pretty much everything you said.  ---Brian A

2019 Honda Rebel 500
2018 Honda Grom

gene46