News:

Buy official forum merchandise here!

Main Menu

"MX Mounts" Bike Tie-Down System Review

Started by KevinB, December 06, 2017, 12:20:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KevinB

I've been using this system for a few months, so I figured I'd give it a review...

http://www.mxmounts.com/

I purchased the double mount and installed it on my 5x10 utility trailer. They also make a single mount, and both will install in the bed of a pick-up if you don't have a trailer.

Before purchasing, I watched their video driving off-road with a single bike loaded in a pick-up bed. It seemed secure, but I still wondered how much back-and-forth movement the bike would have, or how much swaying (and banging into each other) would occur with two bikes. Being a general skeptic I put off buying one for a couple of months, then decided to pull the trigger.

The mounting base and the square footpeg-mounting bars are much heavier-duty than I was expecting. Install was fairly simple...measure, drill holes in the flooring, and tighten self-supplied bolts.

Securing the bikes looked pretty simple in their tutorial vids, but the first time took some trial and error (but realistically still took probably less time than if I'd used traditional straps).

Loading two bikes is just a bit more hassle because of the limited space between them and the need to lean the bike when installing the footpeg plates...but it's still much less hassle than trying to snake tie downs through forks, wheels, etc. to the opposite side tie-down point.

Loading and unloading one bike? It's literally a 20 second job for either one. I ride the bike onto the trailer, lean it inward toward me and drop the plate onto the left peg and install the pin, then lean the bike away and install the plate and pin on the right footpeg. Unloading is just the opposite.