News:

Buy official forum merchandise here!

Main Menu

Hot weather protective gear?

Started by BamaPhill, July 02, 2018, 03:10:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BamaPhill

After riding this past weekend and realizing we have definitely reached Summer heat/humidity, I thought I would ask what some of you guys wear for protection that is hot weather friendly.  It would be nice to shed the jacket and go with something lightweight but still offer protection.  I'm new to dual sport riding, any recommendations?

2013 DR650
2015 CRF250L

springer

Body mesh type armor under shirt/under jacket stuff for my upper body.
https://www.rockymountainatvmc.com/p/837/52716/Acerbis-Koerta-2.0-Body-Armor

Under pants type armor;

https://www.rockymountainatvmc.com/p/835/53174/Forcefield-Contakt-Riding-Shorts

If this is what I am wearing then any vented jacket/pants without armor will go over it.

Summer type riding gloves, Forma Adventure boots. ( I have the tall version but the do make a shorter boot.)

A Camel backpack thing is a life saver. Being able to sip cold water/ Gatoraide  while you ride is a life saver. Both on and off road. Take your pick;

https://www.rockymountainatvmc.com/t/4538/Hydration-Packs?sli_jump=1

Put plenty of crushed ice in them and use the chilled beverage of your choice gives you something cool to sip on all day...until you run out of course. A small insulated bag that can hold a couple of bottles of water/Gatoraide is useful too.

What we've got here, is a failure to communicate.  Strother Martin as the Captain in Cool Hand Luke.
Endeavor to persevere! Chief Dan George as Lone Watie in The Outlaw Josey Wales.

DonJuan

I've had this jacket for a few years now. Keeps me from getting sunburned, and also saved my hide when someone pulled out in front of me last August.

I've never thought it was too hot. I rode 200 miles Saturday, mostly street. It wasn't bad.