News:

Buy official forum merchandise here!

Main Menu

New from Auburn

Started by Tortuga353, July 08, 2017, 05:20:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tortuga353

I live in Auburn and just got a KTM 500 EXC after a 10 year hiatus from motorcycles.  I have been riding MTB and road bikes (pedal) during this time.  It took me a while to get the wife on board with another motorcycle. 

My background was almost purely Motocross.  I started riding at 7 years old on a 1979 CT70.  I pretty much rode that thing into the ground in GA on trails behind my house.  We used to pretend we were riding the Blackwater 100 and run the bike upstream in the creek behind the house.

I then graduated to a KX80 and spent most of my time on the track and ran several of the amature Loretta Lynns qualifiers in GA in the 90's.  I shared the tracks with talented folks like Ricky Carmichael, Shane Lusk (Not as fast as Ezra), and Shae Bentley.   I wasn't ever any good at racing but I loved being on a bike and riding.  I then had many bikes over the years CR125/250's, YZ's, XR's, Rebel, Nighthawks, Shadow, and now a KTM.  I don't love street riding and will trailer my bike for any long road portions.  I found out my MTB and motocross skills don't necessarily make a good trail/enduro rider.  I did manage to wrestle the 500 around Highlands Off-road Park in Cedartown but I did a lot of padeling and stalled out on some rutted technical climbs.

Ok, well enough rambling but I look forward to riding/meeting/discussing bikes with everyone.  I'll keep working on my trail riding and getting my guts/handling skills back. 

Chitza

Welcome, Tortuga! We have plenty of dirty riders here. Watch the Let's Ride and Planned Rides. Jump in when you see something you want to join.
Loud pipes make me hungry for Valium biscuits and scotch gravy. - kdtrull

Yeah....ham it up, crackers.   ;D -kdtrull
The politically correct term is "Saltine American". -KevinB

springer

Welcome Tortuga353! Great intro!