News:

Buy official forum merchandise here!

Main Menu

Greetings from another David.

Started by David DoubleEX, April 24, 2018, 05:37:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

David DoubleEX

Hey guys! Figure I should make an actual introduction. I'm David. I started riding on a 2005 Ninja EX500. I rode it for a couple years until I forgot how to check the oil and it ran dry a little too long. What's that knocking sound?

Once I wasted a lot of time trying to part out the ninja, I started looking for a new bike. I thought I wanted an adventure bike that I could take off road as well. So I found the bulletproof 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 1000. Its ugly. The huge headlights are stupid. And its way too heavy for ME to want to take it off road. But it eats up miles easily and comfortably. Its as reliable as a tank. Its nimble enough to be plenty of fun in the corners. It always gets me where I want to go and I have a great time in the process. I don't currently plan on getting rid of it... Yet... I have been eyeballing the gen2 v Strom 1000s and I really like how they look too. But that'll be a few years.

After taking the V-Strom offroad for a day at the 2016 eastern v-Strom rally, I went home and bought a proper dirt bike. Well not immediately, but thats when I decided thats what I wanted to do. I eyeballed Craigslist for awhile and then bought a 2002 Yamaha WR426 in late 2016. I wanted a dual sport that I could ride to the trails as I only had a car at the time. The WR does it with a scary top speed of about 90 MPH but also plenty capable to handle all sorts of off road fun. I have enjoyed a couple of areas near Gurley that we call Colemine (in Hollytree) and Bull Run (in Estillfork.) Also been to Hollytree off road, and most recently Stoney Lonesome (in Cullman.)