News:

Buy official forum merchandise here!

Main Menu

Lane splitting video.

Started by klaviator, September 20, 2017, 01:29:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

klaviator

zdc1775

I do it on 565 between the Parkway and Moore's Mill fairly often in the afternoons on the way home.

dredman

Not only is it safer for riders, it cuts your commute by 1/3 in places like LA.
Less traffic, safer, faster, and fun for the whole family - what's not to like?

One off the few things in California I LOVED - besides the food and Los Padres :respect-058:

KrisCook

Gah.  I got sweaty palms just watching that.  As a rider, I'd be afraid of unsignaled lane changes.  As a driver, I'd be afraid a rider would lose it and bang up the side of my car. 
Sounds good except for pretty much everything you said.  ---Brian A

2019 Honda Rebel 500
2018 Honda Grom

klaviator

I lived in California for three and a half years.  I didn't do much lane splitting.  Today the traffic on much of California is so bad that lane splitting saves a huge amount of time, not to mention aggravation from being stuck in traffic.  If I lived there today I'm pretty sure I'd do it.  The part of the video that made me nervous was around 3 minutes into it where he was really going a lot faster than the traffic.  I think lane splitting and filtering is actually pretty safe as long as the speed differential isn't too great.  I guess like any type of riding lane splitting can be done safely.....or not. 

springer

Loved it when I was in San Diego in 1988. Wish we have it here. :respect-048: I think the local political motorcyclist organizations should push for lane splitting, a smart thing to do on a motorcycle, instead of tring to repeal the helmet law, a stupid thing to do on a motorcycle.
What we've got here, is a failure to communicate.  Strother Martin as the Captain in Cool Hand Luke.
Endeavor to persevere! Chief Dan George as Lone Watie in The Outlaw Josey Wales.

KevinB