Let me introduce you to the New BamaRides

Started by jrobinson, September 25, 2015, 09:16:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jrobinson

The dust has settled, and the new forum is up and running, so the Moderators and I felt an explanation is needed on the State of BamaRides. With the help of Glenn Harshman, along with the other Mods, I've written a letter with the hope of clearing up any doubts or concerns about Bamarides and the future of the forum.

We will leave the comments open for questions until we feel everyone has had an opportunity to reply. Please keep in mind, we expect a civil discussion and personal attacks will not be tolerated on any open forum discussions. I'll welcome any comments in a PM also.

STATE OF BAMARIDES

To old members and new members, welcome to BamaRides 2.0.

First, let me introduce myself.  In real life, people call me "Johnny" or "J.R."  I've been an administrator and moderator on BamaRides for about 4 years now, and I've been a member for 7 years.

When Don decided to go on his big adventure, he decided to turn the forum over to me.  While he is traveling, he doesn't have the time or reliable internet required to administer the forum.

Earlier this month the forum crashed.  The forum we use was designed by a company called "Simple Machines", and all of the content, photos, posts, threads, etc., are stored in an open-source database called "MySQL".  Somehow, the database became corrupted.

Because it happened shortly after Don left, some people believe that there was a connection.  I can assure you that is not the case.  The timing was just a coincidence.  The truth is that we do not know what caused the crash.  It could have been hackers, spammers, hardware failure, etc.