News:

Buy official forum merchandise here!

Main Menu

10,000 MILES

Started by gene46, October 30, 2015, 01:13:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gene46

I am not sure if this is a real ride report or just a chance to brag on myself. It isn't anything special to most of you, but it is to me. I started riding 2 years ago at the age of 51. I wanted to save gas money. My goal was (I was told it was lofty) to ride 10,000 miles per year. I started with a Chinese 150 CC scooter. I moved to larger and faster scooters. When I realized I was bitten by the riding bug, I bought a 600 cc Honda Shadow. May 13, 2015 I bought my first new bike, a Honda Shadow Spirit 750 with 1.9 miles on her. Now it is 5 1/2 months later and my odometer is over 10,000 miles! I could never imagine I would enjoy riding so much that it would become my primary transportation, hobby and lifestyle. It has transformed my wardrobe (for safety, not style as much), where I give most of my volunteer for causes time and some of my financial giving.
I have loved the past 2 years and especially this past summer. I know my riding will be slowed some through the winter but I am looking forward to seeing my total miles on May 13, 2016!

springer

Kicking buttocks you are!
What we've got here, is a failure to communicate.  Strother Martin as the Captain in Cool Hand Luke.
Endeavor to persevere! Chief Dan George as Lone Watie in The Outlaw Josey Wales.

lazeebum

That's what motorcycles are made for. When someone asks me why I ride, I just say,"cause I can".  That 750 Shadow will take you a long way.

jrobinson

Every ride is epic! Ride Reports are for anytime you ride.

I don't think there's many of us that actually "save gas" by riding a motorcycle.  :)

gene46