News:

Buy official forum merchandise here!

Main Menu

Rode to Blood Mountain and survived

Started by IceCold4x4, December 27, 2015, 03:33:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

IceCold4x4

Well a buddy has been bugging me since I started riding to come over to Georgia to ride Blood Mountain with him and his friends. Put that off as long as I had the Vulcan, but about a month after I got the ZRX I found myself with a day off and a plan to go ride the mountain. Well of course he couldn't make it as it was on a weekday, and of course I had tire trouble 300 miles away from home. I had a 6 year old tire that was on the bike when i bought it and i found out the hardway why you date check tires. No damage to me or bike other than 4 hours of time wasted trying to find a replacement tire up there.

Fast forward 6 months and about 6 thousand miles trying to learn the new bike.

So he messages me and says they are having an after X-Mas ride on the 26th. Well hell I've got the day off and I haven't seen the guy in damn near 2 decades, so what the hell right it's not that far. Then I realize they meet at The Varsity in Atlanta at 8 A.M. Eastern time.  Well crap I started doing the math and realize to make it from Birmingham to The Varsity by 8 EST I would need to leave Birmingham by 4 A.M Centra time. I wasn't soo happy about this departure time but figured what the hell I'll get a good nights rest and do it. So of course I wound up being the DD for the wife and some friends who went out drinking X-Mas night, Didn't get to bed until 1 A.M. So when I come out at 4:30 to get on the bike this is what I see in the garage. I had forgotten I had put it up X-Mas day and that much green at 4 A.M. made me jump a bit.