News:

Buy official forum merchandise here!

Main Menu

New Carbs and a problem....

Started by IceCold4x4, May 01, 2016, 12:55:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

IceCold4x4

Just put these larger cvk40's on the bike in place of the stock cvk36's along with a prototype jet kit that's produced good results on 4 other bikes.

Looks like the slides aren't lifting completely to me. The springs included are stiffer than stock.

Anyone know what the result of going back to the weaker stock springs might be? Or for that matter what would cause the slides to not lift all the way because everything else idle / part throttle and what not seems damn close to perfect and it's making ALOT more power at part throttle just not at WOT.

01YZF6

Are there adjustable slots on the needles to move the clip on?

kdtrull

I'm no expert but that looks fairly normal to me.  It will only open against the spring pressure proportionally to the vacuum produced by the engine (and allowed to pass to the top of the diaphragm).

At any rate, the last 10% of a valve(slide) opening is almost negligible with respect to flow.  In very general terms, when a valve (slide) is 25% open, the percentage of maximum flow for a given differential pressure is already at 50%.  This is more true for non-compressible fluids, like water.  There's more considerations for compressible air but the relationship  between max flow vs. %open of the valve is still roughly true.

You could play around with weakening the spring (cut a turn or two out of it)....or put a weaker spring in....but I'd be surprised if it made much of a difference.

Where you might realize a significant difference is in the time it takes the slide to reach its position for a given applied vacuum....throttle response.