News:

Buy official forum merchandise here!

Main Menu

Confessions of a Struggling Rider

Started by Chitza, April 17, 2017, 12:03:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chitza

I've been riding for almost 9 years. I'm not a newbie by definition anymore. I took the Basic Rider's Course and 6 months later, the Advanced Rider's Course. I've owned somewhere close to 15 bikes and ridden over 100,000 miles total.
But none of this means I was a proficient rider. I had never ridden before and all the mechanics of riding were new to me. I had no muscle memory or experience to rely upon. And I was 46yo when i started. Not the most pliable brain on the planet.

Every single mile has been a struggle and chasing mastery of proficiency. I've enjoyed most of those miles even though they weren't perfect in execution. I've been good enough to fake proficiency and look like I knew what I was doing but it was mentally exhausting. Constantly trying to get it to "click." I've had "aha" moments and revelations that made things easier.

Being inside my head when I rode was like an international convention of people speaking 12 different languages all trying to decide on which pizza toppings to order.

Hit the apex. Slow, look, press and roll. Focus on the exit. Countersteer. Shift your weight. Kiss the mirror. Straighten out the curves. Outside, inside, outside.

Too many voices. And I developed some REALLY bad habits. I'm ashamed to admit them publicly but if I can help one rider figure this out, I'm willing to take my licks.

After the trip to Alaska, I have only been on a bike 5 times. Yep. Five times in 9 months. Lots of reasons. My health has been a major battle and when I have felt good, I needed to be working on my house. And mentally, I just wasn't there.