News:

Buy official forum merchandise here!

Main Menu

New Member - Just Moved Back to 'Bama

Started by timebak, December 10, 2020, 12:39:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

timebak

Hi Folks. Just moved back to north Alabama from north Missouri after retiring and being gone for a couple of decades.  I'm presently riding a Yamaha Super Tenere, which I've had for about a year.  I love to ride backcountry and scenic roads/trails, whether paved, gravel, dirt, goat trails, fire breaks, or whatever. But, I'm still learning to handle a big bike like the Tenere in really difficult offroad situations.  However, at age 65, I've also learned that, as Clint Eastwood said: "A man's got to know his limitations."

I'm up for day rides or multi-day rides and like to tent camp.  This past May, I did a 3700 mile, 9-day ride from north Missouri through the backcountry of Utah and Colorado and back. I want to start doing parts of the TAT, and BDR's.  My dream ride would be to Alaska and back.  But I'm really looking forward to all the fantastic riding here in Alabama and nearby states.

It was great learning about this site, and I'm looking forward to meeting some folks here.

It is not the knowing, nor the talking, nor the reading man, but the doing man, that at last will be found the happiest man. - Thomas Brooks (1608-1680)

KevinB

Welcome to MC-AL and back to Alabama! We've got some active riders in N. AL, so keep an eye out for a posted ride.

thinwater

Welcome, watch and or post in the Rides section to kick up a ride or join in on one. 

jrobinson

Welcome from the east side of Hsv.

Watch for rides and show up.

Holler if you have any questions.

norton73

Welcome from Springville.

Great pics.

Post up a ride report of your trip please.

Hope to ride with you in the future.
Loose nut holding the handlebars

Sweeper

Hey glad you found it! It's a slow time of year but there will be a couple of rides when there are good days so watch for them.