News:

Buy official forum merchandise here!

Main Menu

What do you look for in a dual sport ride?

Started by klaviator, November 30, 2017, 12:13:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

klaviator

Dual sport riding covers a wide range of riding.  There are the "dirtbike with lights" riders and at the other end of the spectrum the riders who mainly ride on the pavement but occasionally venture on to some dirt roads.  There is also everything in between.

So what kind of dual sport rider are you.  What else do you look for in a dual sport ride.  Lunch? Scenery?  Fellow riders?  How far do you prefer to ride in one day.  Anything else?

Just tell us what kind of dual sport rider you are and what you prefer.  It will help us get to know you and might help ride leader better plan rides.

I'll kick this off.

I started riding dirt late in life so I will never be a great dirt rider.  I have a sport bike background so I never get tired of riding twisty paved roads even if I'm on a dual sport bike with knobbies.  So I like a mix of curvy paved roads and off road.  I'm not into really gnarly trails but do like to hit some stuff more challenging than a smooth dirt/gravel road.  I do enjoy the scenery and I like the feeling of being out in the wilderness and exploring. 

Around 150 miles seems to be a good days dual sport ride for me but if it's mostly dirt then the mileage will be lower and mostly street it may be higher.  I prefer riding with others as it's just a lot safer when out in the boonies as well as it's fun to socialize when stop. 

I really like riding narrow, twisty and bumpy back roads that wouldn't be fun on a sport bike but are a blast on a dual sport.

Probably my most memorable dual sport experience was riding the Moab area for a week with friends.

I currently ride a big heavy KLR but plan on downsizing at some point to better handle challenging terrain.

Nice Goat

I have several goals, not all of them important on the same ride.  I mix and match.